Everyday Challenges

feature-stress-500x300I know I have been absent from my blog site, but please forgive me for it. As it has been just a struggle to juggle so many tasks – blogging, taking classes, working full time and managing life. I absolutely think that I’m growing and learning from this experience because it prepared me for what’s really going to happing in the real world. I honestly think that this was one of the summers that are just overwhelming but a tad bit manageable. Although others may complain that working a fulltime job, (including overtime and weekends), taking four classes, and balancing out real life responsibilities are piece of cake, it needs to be instilled that every apple doesn’t fall from the same tree, and we react to common experiences differently.

My internship is about 8 hours a day on paper, but in all it is at least 10 hours a day that I have to dedicate to this internship because of the shortage of the staff members in the office, which is only me and my current supervisor where as its suppose to be five office staff. While I’m in the office, I have the opportunity to work on so many tasks that’s incomplete and need attention. For instance I had to be the spoke person for the new student and family programs, facilitate trainings for a wellness class on the power of racial microaggresion, redecorate the entire office with new fixtures and decorations who’s theme relates to multiculturalism, and so much more things that is outside of my job title description. I’m not complaining, but I am however tired, even though i’m gaining so much more then I have expected in the past month.

Blogging is great, only if you have time to do it everyday or every other day. Most of the time I try and dedicate at least twice a day to figure out topics of blogs that I’m going to publish for the week, however, I’ve been thrown so many tasks that I decided to put it on the back burner, even though that was not a great idea, its just too much to handle at some point. It’s a great way to express my inner feelings towards my internship and help people get a sense of what my job is about but, I cant reflect everyday like I want to. I process things quite different from others, I’m not blaming my disability, however things that may come easy for others, I have to take time a process my thoughts and feelings to get the reaction it needs.

I’m taking an overwhelming amount of classes at the moment, that all requires some writing to be about a page long. To be honest it’s challenging, and I learned that challenges are great, especially for growth. In a recent blog I read, it was about the importance of rising above life challenges, what hit home for me was this quote “Regardless of where you live or how much success you may’ve already achieved, you will have to confront challenges on an almost daily basis. In fact, the more successful you become, the more challenges you can count on facing.” I feel at ease that this process is only temporary and I will conquer the challenges that I have in this internship and in school.

Also, I would love to receive additional advice from others who have also been experiencing this dilemma.

Thanks!

One thought on “Everyday Challenges

  1. I can relate completely to what you are going throw as I am working part time (but also put in more hours than the job description), taking online classes, and taking the GRE in one month…all while starting my grad school applications. It’s been hard for me to find a balance this summer from working and taking a break but I’ve found that writing down my goals each day increases my chance of completing them. I try to split up my blogs and papers throughout the week so it all doesn’t fall on one evening. It’s tough but it will be worth it! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment